top of page

Dying silk


silk hankies, silk top, silk brick, silk cocoons

Today I'm dying silk. I have a few different types: top, cocoons, brick, and hankies.

All have beauty, each are also very different.

First, soak them in a mixture of vinegar and water. I let the silk stand for twenty minutes or so.

adding dye to silk

Then, I add dye. I start with blue and later add a large amount of yellow. I dilute the dye in water make dye stock. If you are using food safe materials it's fine to use your silverware and utensils for cooking. However, if you were using commercial dye or anything with poisons never use them for cooking

dying silk in the oven

200 decrease check every 15 min

I then bake the silk checking the water level every fifteen minutes. When the silk absorbs all it can let it cool down to room temperature. I then rinse under water temperature doesn't matter because it's not like wool it doesn't have hooks and barbs to make it felt. You can disturb the alignment so just be gentle. Let dry and enjoy.

dyed silk from lickyourface8

dye silk from lickyourface8

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page