top of page

Combing or Carding


Five pitch comb

Drum carder

R: Drum

carder

L: English combs

When I start a project I go over a few questions. First, how long is the fiber? Anything longer than four inches I reach for my combs. Carding is perfect for short fiber. Not to say all can be broken into the best just on fiber length alone but, this is a start. When combing fiber they need to be similar in length. Combs will leave broken, short, clumpy fibers behind. At the end, combing will leave behind about half the fiber this is called seconds. I would not trash this fiber you can use it for a different project. However, after you draw off the best or top fibers you can re-comb the seconds to get just a little more fiber.

If you were to pull on a lock of wool fiber and you can feel it is weak. Short or not after you put it through a carder it can look like rats chewed it. This fiber is good for felting, dryer balls, ect...

Then I ask, "would I like my project soft and warm? " or "would I like it strong and durable built to last?" Carder makes all the fibers cross one another trapping lots of air and making it warmer. One down side is the fibers are spun loosely and can be damaged more easily. So you desire something that will last like a pair of socks. Combing your fiber is for you. When we comb fiber it makes all the fiber parallel or going in the same direction. If we put out all the short fibers you will be left with a smooth, strong, and long wearing yarn. Yarn twist plays a big part too. This also brings up woolen or worsted. I'll save this for next time.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page